October 13th – 19th

Week Eight…

I drove around for a while today trying to scout a location.  Generally I am thinking about the post all weekend in the back of my head but this weekend was so ripe with adventures that I could do nothing more than focus on the then present.  Today it all slowed down so I loaded up the truck and went driving and went thinking.  It was one of those drives where you have the windows up and the heat on one minute, then its windows down and then its just the sunroof.  It was like that for today showed everything that a New England fall day can show: rain, wind, blue skies, gray skies, puffy clouds, hot in the sun, cold in the shade.

And while I was driving and thinking I realized that farming has been on my mind a lot lately.  This comes from several places.  First would be working in the restaurants and watching the shift to local produce, meat and fish.  The second reason would be my upbringing and the family garden we kept every year and my first attempt at my own garden.  And the third and most prominent reason would have to be that my sister and her husband just purchased a large track of land in Tiverton and we have started to clear the land so that her family may begin the process of cultivating the land.  So maybe that’s why I walked through a set of woods this week, blazed through some thicket, hopped a stone wall or two and found myself with a corn field framed up without a telephone pole or road or sign or anything else in sight…

Photo/Set Up

3 Responses to “October 13th – 19th”

  1. If we look very closely I wonder if we can see Dorothy’s scarecrow.

  2. Love it!!! SO glad you are on board with our new adventure- can’t wait to see what it brings!

  3. this 52 needs to go on forever!

Leave a Reply

