December 8th – 14th

Christmas Pier

Week Sixteen…

I told you that I was going to dive into the Christmas spirit!  There is a beautiful tree in my living room, with decorations both old and new.  We went to Boland’s Tree Farm in Tiverton and had a great experience.  There were hay rides, hot cider and goats for the petting.  The trees still had some snow and ice on them from the night before.  All in all it was everything you would want in the perfect tree cutting.

I shot this pier two years ago and when I went out last night to stalk the island looking for large-scale light displays I didn’t find much that awed me.  Astors’ Beechwood Mansion was lit nicely but wasn’t exactly what I was looking for so I went with what I knew.  There is just something about this shack at the end of the pier.  Just out of reach and lit so perfectly.  The last time I shot this it was just after sunset and there were some colors left in the sky.  That made for a nice contrast but this time I wanted to go full on nighttime open exposure, and since the sun sets around 2 in the afternoon I didn’t have to wait until the wee hours of the night to get this shot.  I did have to jog in place while I was waiting for the exposures but that’s neither here nor there.

Enjoy the build up to the holidays and there may be another open exposure light shot  the week of the 22nd…a house hold light display…

Photo

One Response to “December 8th – 14th”

  1. Jogging in place was so worth it. Great picture!

Leave a Reply

