December 29th 2009 – January 4th 2010

It was 18 degrees out when I shot this...

Week nineteen

So what did I do this morning when I woke up and it was 21 degrees out with a windchill that put the temperature in the single digits?  I decided to go shoot wind turbines.  OK, truth be told, I had a few cups of coffee in my new Christmas mug and then put on 15 articles of clothing and went out to shoot wind turbines (yes, 15 and each pair of gloves and socks are counted as one article).  I had it in my head that I wanted to get a shot of one of the wind turbines out in Portsmouth.  There was a bright blue and cloudless sky today, for those of you who smartly never drew the curtains and drank hot cocoa and watch movies all day.  And this sky did nothing to help me.  I wanted to get a the turbines in motion against this backdrop but could not capture what I had in my frozen head.  I put on two polarizing filters and tried to trick my camera but it was to no avail.  Follow this link for my best result.

I packed it up after about a half hour in the sub-freezing weather and went to warm up at a friend’s house down the street.  While thawing out on the couch I decided to shoot a previously recommended location which has a historic windmill from 1812.  Prescott Farm in Middletown is a throw back to revolutionary times with houses dating back to the late 1700’s.  For a much more detailed history of the farm follow here.  Wind power has been an major part of the history of our island and is so iconic that Middletown has it on their town emblem.

Go refill your hot cocoa and enjoy the photo!

Photo

2 Responses to “December 29th 2009 – January 4th 2010”

  1. Wow Garrett – this is my favorite shot so far. Please teach me everything you know :). Is there any way I can purchase this print from you? I’d like to start and make a Garrett Seiple collection at our next place since I have that beautiful shot your parents gave me for our wedding. Amazing!!!

  2. Keep up the good work garrett.

Leave a Reply

