April 20th – 26th

The Old Hi-Way Bowl

Week Thirty-Five…

There was a time, some years ago, when there were two bowling lanes on the Island.  There were also a couple of mini-golf courses and a driving range.  There were bumper boats and we had an indoor skate park.  These things are all gone.  Some of the buildings still stand, like where Aquidneck Lanes was, now a BJ’s, and where Hi-Way Bowl and Mini-Golf was which is where these rusted tombstones still stand.

OK, I’m feeling a little nostalgic for my childhood right now but there is little in the ways of entertainment on our fair Island.  I had several birthday parties at Aquidneck Lanes and loved going to play mini-golf where this photo was taken.  Though I will have to say that my favorite mini-golf memory lies under the Rotunda at Easton’s Beach.  When I was a wee one there were bumper boats and a beat up put-put course on the beach.  It was quite a raggedy course but I loved going down there with my parents and my sister and having something so novel and fun so close to home.

I don’t mean to sound preachy but I hope that we can have a resurgence of places like these so that the children on this island have the opportunity to make memories like the ones that I have.

Also, my Father has been working with my project and an interface for Google Maps called Scribble Maps: click here to see both the picture and the post where it was taken on Google Maps!

Photo

One Response to “April 20th – 26th”

  1. Love the new Scribble map…Thanks Bill! I see plenty of free space around the Drive. What do you have planned? Is the “rock waterfall” still there?(I think it was near the Cove at the end of an inland driveway). It was a regular stop for us when we were “touring” with Uncle Billy and we never went by without stopping to pour pebbles…..

Leave a Reply

